Men’s 1s: Season finishes with 4-4 draw

jimmy_m Match reports, Men 1st XI


Epsom: 4 (Hebden, Midmer 3)

Basingstoke: 4

Steve Turnbull was in form in Epsom's 4-4 draw with Basingstoke

Steve Turnbull was in form in Epsom’s 4-4 draw with Basingstoke


Steve Turnbull took centre stage in Epsom’s final day 4-4 draw at home to Basingstoke. A distinct sense of end-of-season-itus hung over the fixture and it was a minor miracle it was only 1-1 at half time, an early Basingstoke counter-attack goal cancelled out by a Sean Hebden short corner rebound. In between Steve Turnbull had missed a penalty stroke but he made up for it with a dominant second half display during which he set up a quick fire hat-trick for James Midmer and a number of other chances. Basingstoke kept cutting the deficit however and with 5 minutes to go they produced a quality deflected equaliser to make it 4-4 and take a deserved point.

The result guaranteed Epsom a third placed finish in the Surrey / Hampshire League 1. This represented a decent post-Christmas effort (P:11, W:8, D:1, L:2) from the side, who might have finished higher had they started the season in the same form (P:11, W:6, D:2. L:3). The season has nonetheless been really encouraging, seeing 87 goals scored, a Surrey Cup run and the emergence of two quality young players, goalkeeper Ed Burton-Brown and central midfielder Joe Lazell. These two virtually split the player of the season vote with Lazell emerging just on top. Young forward Alex Culff also emerged as a goal-scoring force, whilst Epsom also gave valuable experience to the next generation with, Liam White, Josh Glasford, Rob Sydenham and James Tuck all turning out with distinction over the season.


1st XI Season summary:


P: 22, W:14, D:3, L:5

Goals for: 87, Goals against: 43


Player of Season: Joe Lazell


Goalscorers (league goals in brackets)


James Midmer:          32 (26)

Scott Barton:              16 (15)

Paul Atkinson:           14 (11)

Mike Atkinson:           11 (8)

Alex Pizzey:               7 (7)

Oli Hildrey:                 7 (6)

Alex Culff:                   7 (3)

Sean Hebden:           4 (3)

Steve Turnbull:          3 (2)

Josh Glasford:           3 (0)

Kai Smith:                  2 (2)

Andy Mcnamee:        2 (1)

Rob Sydenham:        1 (1)